Skip over navigation

OHRI researchers are making tomorrow’s health care possible for patients today

Imagine a world where the heart is repaired after a heart attack or the brain regenerated after a stroke. This is the enormous potential that stem cell research brings, and this is the incredible work that the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI) is doing at the Sprott Centre for Stem Cell Research.

Stem cells: The building blocks of our bodies

“I’ve been working with stem cells my entire career,” says Dr. Michael Rudnicki, senior scientist and Director of OHRI’s Sprott Centre for Stem Cell Research and Regenerative Medicine Program, and professor at the University of Ottawa. “Stem cells are the building blocks that make up our bodies, and also the building blocks that repair damaged tissue. Stem cells are present with us throughout life, and if we can harness them, we can develop new therapies for treating many devastating and lethal diseases.”

This year, the Sprott Centre is celebrating its fifth anniversary – and in this short time, it has quickly become a global leader for stem cell research.

“The Sprott Centre provides a unique multidisciplinary environment, with outstanding basic scientists, clinician scientists, trainees and staff working together to rapidly move discoveries from the bench to the bedside,” says Dr. Rudnicki. “We also have cutting-edge equipment and a great environment for collaboration and learning.”

Under Dr. Rudnicki’s leadership, the Sprott Centre also provides a hub for Canada’s Stem Cell Network, which brings more than 100 top stem cell researchers together to develop new therapies.

World-first discoveries and clinical trials

OHRI researchers have made a number of world-first discoveries, such as identifying the first stem cells in a muscle and in heart tissue, leading to the development of experimental protein-based drugs that can stimulate stem cells within the body to repair and regenerate damaged tissue.

They’ve also made great progress in stem cell transplantation, treating dozens of patients with multiple sclerosis with an experimental bone marrow stem cell transplant procedure, with very promising results.

The past year alone has been marked with many successes, including ground-breaking clinical trials. Dr. Duncan Stewart recently received Health Canada approval to test the world’s first engineered stem cell therapy for heart attack, and he and Dr. Lauralyn McIntyre also received funding for the first-ever clinical trial of a stem cell therapy for septic shock.

“As an intensive care physician, I am always looking for new approaches to improve patient care,” says Dr. McIntyre, who is also a scientist at OHRI and an assistant professor at the University of Ottawa. “Septic shock is one of the most common and devastating conditions we see, and despite our best efforts, between 30 and 40 per cent of patients don’t survive. Researchers at the Sprott Centre have shown that stem cell therapy can triple the survival rate in an experimental model of septic shock, so we’re really excited to test this with patients. This trial is just a first step, but it is a very exciting first step.”

World-renowned researchers

By cultivating this unique and ambitious research environment, OHRI is proud to continue to recruit the best and the brightest researchers from around the world.

World-renowned scientist Dr. William Stanford joined the Sprott Centre in July 2011. His work on reprogramming normal adult blood and skin cells to turn them into powerful stem cells has enormous potential for understanding and treating many diseases.

World-class scientist Dr. Bernard Thébaud will also join the Sprott Centre this summer. As a pediatrician, jointly recruited with the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), Dr. Thébaud aims to develop and test new regenerative therapies for premature babies with underdeveloped lungs.

“I came to the Sprott Centre because I wanted to interact with great stem cell scientists, but also with clinicians who treat patients every day,” says Dr. Stanford, senior scientist at the OHRI and professor at the University of Ottawa. “The Sprott Centre is great for this: if I have an idea for a new therapy I can walk down the hall and talk with a cardiologist or a bone marrow transplant specialist to see what they think. Bringing basic and clinical researchers together like this is crucial for the development of new therapies.”

Five great years

After five great years, the team is certain there is much more success to come:

“We are all so happy and excited – this has been an extraordinary few years full of discoveries and we expect this productivity and innovation to continue,” says Dr. Marjorie Brand, senior scientist at OHRI and associate professor at the University of Ottawa.

“New stem cell therapies are coming, and within our lifetime we are going to see a radical transformation in the way medicine is practiced,” says Dr. Rudnicki. “And, most importantly, in the way patients are treated.”

The Sprott Centre was named in honour of donors Eric and Vizma Sprott. Many other donors to The Ottawa Hospital Foundation have supported the Centre, in addition to the Canada Foundation for Innovation, the Government of Ontario, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Stem Cell Network.

Skip over navigation

Des chercheurs de l’IRHO rendent les soins de demain possibles aujourd’hui

Imaginez qu’un cœur se répare après une crise cardiaque ou qu’un cerveau se régénère après un AVC. Voilà le potentiel extraordinaire qu’offre la recherche sur les cellules souches. C’est aussi un volet du travail incroyable qui se fait au Centre de recherche sur les cellules souches Sprott de l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa (IRHO).

Cellules souches : des composantes fondamentales de notre corps

« Je travaille avec les cellules souches depuis le début de ma carrière », déclare le Dr Michael Rudnicki, scientifique principal, directeur du Centre de recherche sur les cellules souches Sprott et du Programme de médecine régénératrice de l’IRHO, et professeur à l’Université d’Ottawa. « Les cellules souches sont les composantes fondamentales de notre corps. Ce sont elles qui réparent les tissus endommagés tout au long de notre vie. Elles font partie de nous et si nous pouvons les exploiter, nous pourrons élaborer de nouveaux traitements contre de nombreuses maladies dévastatrices et mortelles. »

Cette année, le Centre Sprott a cinq ans. En ce court laps de temps, il est vite devenu un chef de file mondial en recherche sur les cellules souches.

« Le Centre Sprott offre un environnement multidisciplinaire unique qui compte des chercheurs fondamentalistes, des cliniciens chercheurs, des stagiaires et des employés exceptionnels travaillant ensemble pour donner vie aux découvertes, soutient le Dr Rudnicki. Nous avons également du matériel de pointe et un environnement propice à la collaboration et à l’apprentissage. »

Sous le leadership du Dr Rudnicki, le Centre Sprott constitue également un carrefour pour le Réseau de cellules souches du Canada, qui regroupe plus de 100 chercheurs de haut calibre travaillant sans relâche pour élaborer de nouveaux traitements.

Des découvertes et des essais cliniques pionniers

Les chercheurs de l’IRHO ont fait un certain nombre de découvertes pionnières, comme l’identification des premières cellules souches dans un muscle et dans le tissu cardiaque. Ces percées ont engendré la mise au point de médicaments expérimentaux à base de protéines qui peuvent stimuler les cellules souches du corps pour réparer et régénérer des tissus endommagés.

Ils ont également réalisé des progrès importants pour ce qui est de la greffe de cellules souches. En effet, ils ont traité des douzaines de patients atteints de sclérose en plaques par une greffe expérimentale des cellules souches de moelle osseuse, une procédure qui a donné des résultats très prometteurs.

La dernière année à elle seule a été marquée par de nombreux succès, comprenant des essais cliniques pionniers. Le Dr Duncan Stewart vient de recevoir l’approbation de Santé Canada pour mettre à l’essai le premier traitement par cellules souches pour les victimes d’une crise cardiaque, une première mondiale. De concert avec la Dre Lauralyn McIntyre, il a également reçu du financement pour le tout premier essai clinique de traitement du choc septique à l’aide de cellules souches.

« À titre d’intensiviste, je cherche toujours de nouvelles façons d’améliorer les soins aux patients, déclare la Dre McIntyre, qui est également scientifique à l’IRHO et professeure adjointe à l’Université d’Ottawa. Le choc septique est un des problèmes de santé les plus fréquents et les plus dévastateurs que nous voyons, et malgré tous nos efforts, de 30 à 40 % des patients en meurent. Les chercheurs du Centre Sprott ont démontré que le traitement par cellules souches peut tripler le taux de survie dans un modèle expérimental de choc septique. Nous sommes donc très enthousiastes à l’idée de mettre à l’essai cette nouvelle méthode sur des patients. Cet essai n’est qu’une première étape, mais elle a de quoi nous emballer. »

Chercheurs de renommée mondiale

Nous sommes fiers à l’IRHO de continuer à recruter les plus brillants chercheurs du monde entier grâce à notre milieu de recherche ambitieux et unique en son genre.

Le Dr William Stanford, scientifique de renommée mondiale, s’est joint au Centre Sprott en juillet 2011. Ses travaux sur la reprogrammation des cellules adultes normales de la peau et du sang pour transformer en puissantes cellules souches ont beaucoup de potentiel pour comprendre et traiter de nombreuses maladies.

Le Dr Bernard Thébaud, scientifique de calibre mondial, se joindra au Centre Sprott cet été. À titre de pédiatre, recruté conjointement avec le Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’Est de l’Ontario (CHEO), le Dr Thébaud cherche à élaborer et à mettre à l’essai de nouveaux traitements régénérateurs pour les bébés prématurés dont les poumons sont sous-développés.

« Je suis venu au Centre Sprott parce que je voulais interagir avec de grands scientifiques spécialisés en cellules souches, mais également avec des cliniciens qui traitent des patients chaque jour, affirme le Dr Stanford, scientifique principal à l’IRHO et professeur à l’Université d’Ottawa. Le Centre Sprott est fantastique à cet égard : si j’ai une idée pour un nouveau traitement, je peux traverser le couloir et parler à un cardiologue ou une spécialiste des greffes de moelle osseuse pour voir ce qu’ils en pensent. Le regroupement de chercheurs fondamentalistes et de cliniciens chercheurs comme c’est le cas ici est crucial pour l’élaboration de nouveaux traitements. »

Cinq années fantastiques

Après cinq années fantastiques, l’équipe est certaine que l’avenir nous réserve encore beaucoup de réussites.

« Nous sommes tous très heureux et enthousiastes, fait remarquer Dre Marjorie Brand, scientifique principale à l’IRHO et professeure adjointe à l’Université d’Ottawa. Ces cinq années ont été jalonnées de découvertes et nous nous attendons à poursuivre ces nombreuses innovations et à demeurer productifs. »

« Les nouveaux traitements par cellules souches arrivent, ajoute le Dr Rudnicki. De notre vivant, nous verrons une transformation radicale de la médecine, et surtout, des traitements prodigués aux patients. »

Le Centre Sprott a été nommé en l’honneur des donateurs Eric et Vizma Sprott. Beaucoup d’autres donateurs à La Fondation de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa soutiennent le Centre, en plus de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, du gouvernement de l’Ontario, des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et du Réseau de cellules souches.